Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Need Info On Quick Detailing Spray.

Hi there,

I used to be a valeter a few years back but I am still learning new stuff through this site.

I have been reading about and will probably start using a quick detailing spray to keep my car cleaner more often as washing it at home is almost impossible (parking is not close at all).

I have read the technique etc regarding exterior detailng spray but would like to know the following:

Is the spray for paintwork only or can you use it on windows and black trim as well.

I realise there are several types available, which would you recommend?

baring in mind I now poilish the car and then apply a top coat of carnauba wax.

Does a detailing spray do any damage to this carnauba wax finish i.e does it remove it.

Your help is appreciated

Regards

Simon

Welcome to LOC!

Quick detailing spray is basically a non-foaming liquid that contains a very mild detergent. It won't remove your carnauba wax layer if used gently.

There are several types available, all very much of a muchness, I use Merguiers Mist & Wipe purely because its the easiest fo buy.

Yep, same here. Everytime mines washed i used quik detailer, gives it the just wax'd look.

You know when the wax' needs re-applying when the surface looses is smooth glid on glid off feel..

Quick detailing Mists are really for show work, purely for last minute touch-ups before displaying your car.

But, I do use mine to clean off rain spots or dust. Don't use them if your car is DIRTY as you will only ground the dirt into your paintwork - you must wash the car first.

I used mine this weekend as I washed and waxed the car the week before, and we never had any rain during the week. This makes the job alot easier. Just remember to dust off the car first as you don't want to scratch your paintwork.

You should really only use the detailing mist on a waxed surface as you will then have a barrier between the mist and your paint.