Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

• Join The Club

Join the Lexus Owners Club and be part of the Community. It's FREE!

Hi

I'm a new-ish IS250 and Lexus driver plus a new rear wheel drive driver too.

I've noticed that the backend of my IS250 is particularly loose in the wet, so much so I have to go around a roundabout so gingerly for fear of the back end slipping out.

I can be doing 10mph, round a bend and the traction control warning comes on and the back starts slipping out.

Now this doesn't feel right to me (I'm no mechanic...)

Any thoughts on what the problem may be please?

Thanks

Neil

That's not right.

Was the road clean...or muddy. Farm mud from tractors can make a difference.

Are your tyres way down on inflation pressure?

Are they nearly bald?

Are they some cheapo budget make.

If i was guessing I'd say your tyres must be right down on tread. My old Turanzas were hopeless when they were nearly shot. They'd spin pulling a bit quick out of a junction. Personally I did not like the Bridgestones that were on the car when I got it. Have Goodyears now.....much better and quieter too.

I have to push mine to a bit silly lengths to make it slide in the wet. But then, I am more cautious in the wet anyway. But 10mph, that's really hardly moving.

Are you with Manual or Auto box? If you wick it a bit it will race thru the gear changes in the auto. One of the reasons you need to be careful in snowy conditions.

It's manual. I Checked the tyres and the rears are around 1mm off the legal "bump" in the tyre. They are Autotyre on the rears - , (Pirelli P6000 on the front)

So I'm guessing I'm going to need new tyres on the back...

(I'm an ex-company car driver, hence the question...)

Is it best to get these online? If so where, and what should I get?

Thanks

Neil

Don't know what size wheels you have.

Could be 16", 17" or 18"