Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Turbo Lag And Power Loss...

jaydog82

Hi folks, I'm new to the LOC and unfortunately I am opening with a problem :(

(I have a 56 plate IS 220d which has covered just 63000 miles)

I have seen lots of old threads on here of people complaining they have had this issue. Hopefully this means there are a few success stories out there!?! Hopefully i'm not hashing out old issues that you are all sick of reading about!

Recently I have been experiencing the huge turbo lag and loss of power below 2000rpm (apparently common on this model), it is becoming dangerous when pulling out at a junction to find there is no power unless I frantically slip the clutch to get the power back. When the power does kick in there is a big surge of power and the car lurches back into life, not very smoothly either. Also, 3 or 4 times, I have been in 4th or 5th gear going slightly uphill and found the car started to judder and kangaroo as if I was running out of fuel or trying to drive too slow in a high gear. (which I wasn't). Has anyone actually narrowed this down to know exactly what it is or was it simply a process of elimination replacing bits until it went away? I have read lots of threads and people seem to try lots of things then many don't post to say what fixed it?