Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Company Car Driver - NX450h test drive

As a Uk company car driver I've been driving BMW phev's for the last six years and 150000 miles. Fleet have told me now is the time to choose a new car again. I'm not sure about full electric yet though I do have an I4 test drive booked. I live in a rural area of England, with lots of narrow and muddy lanes, 4x4 is very useful. I go skiing most years, usually driving from the Uk to Switzerland. 

My company car scheme is limited to only a few makes. Had a look at Mercedes Benz, tbut he models I sat in seamed massively over styled and not a patch on the old ones I used to own. Had a look at BMW, my natural choice, but the 330e has such a small range it falls into the higher company car tax bracket. The new Active tourer would fit the bill, but none to look at, and a couple of drives in the current 330e suggests that I'd find using the big into screen for almost all functions annoying. Then my fleet manager suggested that I look at the NX 450h. Never driven a Lexus before, never even sat in one.

Quick look online suggests that the tax situation would be good, the size is good, and low and behold real buttons for driver modes and temperature controls Contact was made with Toyota fleet and the next week a white F Sport 450h arrived on the drive. 

First impressions were a bit sketchy, the driver was more interested in where the local bus went from, and the car had no manual or even quick user guide. Everything switch was in a different place to what I'm used to. All the buttons and fonts were different. 
Great fun was had sitting in the drivers seat and having the steering wheel come towards me. The years evaporated away, and I could imagine myself dropping down into Thunderbird 2 and the wheel moving into position.