Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

IS300h headlights too dim - how to change bulbs?

Hello.. 

Im a noob here , please feel free to direct me to a thread on here if this exists but I couldnt find one similar. 

Im finding my headlights (low and high) too dim - mainly too yellow as well, on the back roads with no street lights the range on them seems very short and they are certainly no where near as bright as my older is220d. I would like to change the bulbs to some brighter / whiter ones but i had a look and no idea how to get to the bulbs

Has anyone had the same issue and / or managed to change them by themselves ? If so ,  some advice on how to change them would be great. 

- I should also add its the Luxury model. It does not have the directional headlight system.. just high and low beam, but I think they are HID. 

Thank you ! 

Joel 

you need to find the temperature range of the original hids 

ideally you need a bulb at the 4000k - 4500k to have white light

anything less than 4000k and you'll have yellow light.

here is a link for the kelvin scale

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Kelvin_Temperature_Chart.jpg

I too find the lights on my IS300H inadequate and no where near as good as the Xenon lights on my old Saab 9-3 Ttid Aero. If there is a way to improve the lights I would be very interested.

52 minutes ago, 200h said:

you need to find the temperature range of the original hids 

ideally you need a bulb at the 4000k - 4500k to have white light

anything less than 4000k and you'll have yellow light.

here is a link for the kelvin scale

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Kelvin_Temperature_Chart.jpg

Thank you... They are definitely not more than 4k. too yellow. If I could figure out how to get to the bulb I could have a look at what is in there. 

1 hour ago, Jayw13702 said:

I don’t believe you can get updated hid bulbs, however someone more knowledgeable may be able to confirm that

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk