Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Stereo Mute & Mobile Phone

Well yesterday I finally plucked up the courage to wire up my Nokia Carkit to mute my stereo when receiving and making calls.

I would like to say that I s*****d myself when I unplugged the stereo wired the yellow mute cable to pin 4 on the stereo (blue and orange cable) and plugged the connector back into the back of the stereo and the cd player started making a shuffling sound for about 30 seconds. I think this was a hard reset? Anyway it has been great since.

Anyhoos, it is working brilliantly, I would like to thank Duncan for providing the pin-out colour (in another forum) and Scarface for his contribution as well (in another search I did).

If your thinking of doing this I would advise you to do it, I am no electrician and managed to wire up the mute cable no problems. In hindsight I did cut the cable and use plugs to wire the cables together but I don't think you need to do that as there is sufficient space to plug the yellow mute cable in directly into pin4 (I would recommend you use a hard cable to do this (household electrical type) as it is much firmer to plug in.

Anyway, hope that all makes sense - now I will never miss a call!

Shame it doesn't pause the CD player though, well can't have everything!

Cheers guys!

Now work on the ignition sense as well, so the car kit powers on when you turn on the ignition... or have you dared that one already?  :shifty:

D.

I know how to do that ..... obviously, but I'm not going to tell you ........

I'm off to bed ! :D

Now work on the ignition sense as well, so the car kit powers on when you turn on the ignition... or have you dared that one already?  :shifty:

D.

Search and ye shall find :P

http://www.lexusownersclub.co.uk/forum/ind...=radio++pinouts

I have lost count of the number of times I have posted this and it has been ignored now! :lol: