Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Hi all,

Before I start, I'm going to point out I'm a student. That will become important soon.

I've currently got a 1.8 Focus. Almost faultless. Love the car but I've always wanted a bigger engine.

My Dad's mate (an engineer) has recently acquired a 1994/5 (not sure which) GS300. Dad and I went to take it for a test drive with the intention of Dad having it for himself. He doesn't want it...but I do!!! I fell in love with it straight away.

It looks in mint condition - I couldn't find a mark on it anywhere. However. It's done 170,000 miles. Now no matter who I speak to, everyone says "It's a Lexus. They don't break". Obviously stuff is going to go wrong with them though as well as consumables although fortunately, it's had new belts, radiator, tyres and exhausts so that's one less thing to worry about.

So, from you guys in the know, would purchasing one of these at age 20, as a struggling student be foolish? Is the fact it's done so many miles going to cause trouble later on? Try and be as impartial as you can :P

Many thanks for any help you may have,

Adam

When I was a student, I could just about afford a bus pass :excl:

If the car looks in good nick/well looked after then go for it, if not then don't bother.

As to what to look for when buying a GS300, I'm not sure, but I'm sure a GS300 owner will be along shortly to tell you what to look for.

Thanks for that Kam.

Cosmetically, the car could have passed for new. That's how unmarked it was. I was in the back on the test drive and it was so quiet.

In fact, the only problem I noticed was that one of the guages never seemed to be lit up. A blown bulb I take it?

Check that you can get insurance for it though first mate. I had several insurance companies who wouldn't cover me as I was under 30. That was for a sport model though, not sure if that made the difference.