Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Newbie Here - Abs

AGxM

Bought a 2nd hand IS200 (V '99)and was recently involved in a ding. Thankfully car repaired but the repairer noticed that the abs sensors had been removed although the dash light had been bypassed. Picked car up today and ABS light not on but airbag light on - garage reckons the system reset they carried out has caused this and that everything (abs aside) should still function ok and she should get through MOT.

I will go to local dealer to have sensors refitted but is there a bigger and more expensive reason the abs sensors would have been removed?

Bum! He checked with his tester and he said it would!

Looks like I need to get the thing looked at at a dealership then - more expense. Any idea why the abs sensors would have been removed in the first place?

Thanks for the welcome.

Welcome to LOC.

I'm not convinced it will get through an MOT with the ABS like it is either. The MOT station will know it has ABS fitted and if the check light doesn't illuminate when the ignition switch is turned on then it would fail anyway. I can't think of any reason why a sensor would be removed other than the sensor needing replacing. Even if another component had failed, removing the sensor would be pointless.

you should check with an mot station about this as for mot if there is no abs light showing on dash then it cant fail mot

That is the thing though. If it doesn't have ABS then it can't fail. But, if it does have ABS and the light doesn't function correctly then it would fail, as it shows that the ABS system is not working. i.e. it should come on with the ignition and then go out, not be out all the time. Worth double checking with a garage still I guess.

Bum! He checked with his tester and he said it would!

Looks like I need to get the thing looked at at a dealership then - more expense. Any idea why the abs sensors would have been removed in the first place?

Thanks for the welcome.