Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Revs Rise On Gear Change

Hi .... had the IS200 four weeks now and at first I thought I wasn't doing the gear change right ( it's manual ) .... I noticed revs going up as I declutched. Took it out for a spin today and it was doing it again, thought it's not me. So watched rev counter as I dropped the clutch and foot off the accelerator first ... it definately goes up a few hundred rpm before it drops.

Is this normal?

I've had mine 3 yrs and still can't get used to changing gear properly, I don't think I get the rev rise but the timing does have to be accurate to get a smooth gear change. It doesn't seem to like gear changing at low revs but if you let the revs get over about 3000rpm it is as smooth as silk.

Maybe i'm just a crap driver :blush:

Well Steve, you're not alone.... :alien:

I've noticed this too, but only when the car is cold and the automatic choke is kicking in. :sick:

If I take my foot off the accellerator, and drop the clutch, the revs go up.

No matter how smoothly I change gear, the revs always increase a few 100rpm before dropping.

Goes away, after 10 mins or so of driving. :blink:

Anyone else. :blink:

I've had mine 3 yrs and still can't get used to changing gear properly, I don't think I get the rev rise but the timing does have to be accurate to get a smooth gear change. It doesn't seem to like gear changing at low revs but if you let the revs get over about 3000rpm it is as smooth as silk.

Maybe i'm just a crap driver  

I must be aswell - had mine about 2 months and still can't change gear smoothly every time. Seems to be a bit smoother the higher you let the revs go, but I don't like reving the engine when it is cold, so for about the first 10 minutes of each journey I have to wear a neck brace. :blink:

i thought fuel injected cars didn't have or need a choke  :blink: