Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Ls400 Idle Speed

Lexcob

Hello

I'm new to this forum but I was looking for a little advice and guidance on the normal idle speed for the LS400 engine. My V8 is no longer in a Lexus but transplanted into something else. The engine idles around 1200 -1400 rpm even when the engine has warmed through, is this typical? It is steady at this rpm so it is driveable, it just seems a bit on the high side to me. But since I have no experience of the LS400 power plants I am not sure.

Or is this one of the symptons of the Idle control valve on the front of the engine perhaps needing a clean? If so can anyone point me at a 'how to ' guide. Some the guides and videos on the web seem somewhat inconcise to me. Am I right in saying that you can't get anything like a Haynes manual for the LS400 as they never printed them?

Thanks in advance for any help.

David

................ mine starts at about 1400 revs from cold, quickly reduces to 1000 and idles after a short while at about 500 ish ... the rest I don't know

Malc

Either the control valve needs a clean or it just needs to settle down. Older Toyotas take a long time to reduce their idle speed to the correct speed after an engine ECU reset. I find the best approach is to drive the vehicle and at every junction stop completely, put it in Neutral and wait at least a few seconds before moving off again. Every time you come to a rest and the transmission is out of drive it will adjust the idle speed, lowering it if it is too high.

• Like 1

Thanks for that, that is interesting what constitutes a reset of the ECU? For instance if the Battery to totally flat for a long period of time or has been briefly disconnected can this cause a reset of the ECU? This did occur recently and since then only around 10 miles has been covered? Could the ECU still be 'learning' again?