Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Only One Key

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I bought my is200 with only 1 key which was master key but button function broke. Bought buttons to solder to board but discovered board broke so got a key cut so could open doors when frozen to minimise risk of key snapping. It worked in ignition if next to master key. I filed edges down so it also worked with glove box and boot.

After awhile of unlocking manually and no alarm I got a new master key this Thursday from lexus in Bolton at a cost of £160. They needed me to email copy of log book then they ordered key from lexus then booked me appointment to have programmed and took 10 min.

post-45814-0-90399800-1358583823.jpg cheers for your support and advice guys.

Yep master key :)

As shreksta said a new key will cost u about £160 from Lexus.

If you lose all keys to the car then it's a nightmare. Worst case scenario is you'll need a new ECU, new door locks and new ignition barrel and new keys at a cool price of £2000 from Lexus!

Same for me. I should have asked about keys before going miles to see the car, the seller only had one, but at least it's the master. I phoned Lexus and they said I need to bring the key along with ID and car registration doc etc, (just to prove I'm not trying to nick it) They then order a new key from Germany which takes a week, then they do the technical stuff which they say takes 20 mins, all for around £150. At lot of money but not as much as it would cost if that key was lost.