Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Replacement Hybrid battery

Hi everyone. I own a 2018 NX300h and am approaching 100k miles. I've read various articles about what might happen as and when the hybrid Battery gets too low. Can anyone clarify a few things.

1. Will there be a warning that the Battery is low or will the car just stop?

2. Has anyone replaced the Battery on the mild hybrid and how much did it cost?

3. Is hybrid Battery failure catastrophic?

Many thanks in anticipation for your input.

Good to see your NX getting "well used". Perhaps that will help the Battery last longer. "Normal 12v batteries" normally last longer when they are regularly used and charged.

Hopefully you get some good answers.

I am not an expert, but I would assume it would simply stop switching the engine off as the Battery degrades.

I remember seen on YouTube someone driving Prius with a degraded Battery (before replacing it). 

• Like 1

12 hours ago, Garybt said:

I own a 2018 NX300h and am approaching 100k miles. I've read various articles about what might happen as and when the hybrid battery gets too low. Can anyone clarify a few things.

If the service history / hybrid health check is maintained you will have an unlimited mileage warranty up to 15-years.

The hybrid system will not allow the hybrid Battery to fall below a certain level, so the only way the Battery would get flat is either due to a fault or left unused for a very substantial period.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

4 hours ago, Spock66 said:

If the service history / hybrid health check is maintained you will have an unlimited mileage warranty up to 15-years.

The hybrid system will not allow the hybrid battery to fall below a certain level, so the only way the battery would get flat is either due to a fault or left unused for a very substantial period.

Not completely correct I'm afraid.
It's only 10 years not 15 years, and 100k miles not unlimited.

From the Lexus UK website: