Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

Servicing An Is300 By Yourself

Ian D

Does anyone do their own servicing?

Once upon a time I used to be an engineer (aircraft design/maintenance) and serviced my own cars. My first was a Beetle, which I serviced religiously every 3,000 miles (oil, tappets, timing, grease bearings, adjust handbrake - those were the days) but then cars got a bit complicated, I changed jobs, didn't have the time (kids). My pride still hurts - real men do their own servicing, don't they?

Now I've got a bit more time and no wife to take the car into the garage, it seems to me to be just as much hassle putting my IS300 (coming up to 5 yrs old, 80k miles) into a garage as doing the work myself. Plus I can do something constructive instead of shuffling numbers around on a computer (I feel a bit like Monty Python's lumberjack yearning to break free).

I can get bits from various sellers delivered to my door.

I've ordered a manual on CD.

I've got tools including a trolley jack.

My local tip will take my old oil.

Can anyone help me with pearls of wisdom, such as:

Does anyone do their own servicing?

Has anyone actually done a timing belt change themselves?

Would it all be false economy (no log book stamp) or pride before a fall (I could get something wrong)?

All inputs appreciated.

Cheers,

Ian

If you know your way round engines, it shouldn't be a problem.

I don't service my GS300 myself, but I know there are quite a few lads on here that service their older GS and LS models themselves.

If you are planning to keep the car for a long time, then the absence of a dealer stamp shouldn't be that big a deal, just keep all the invoices for parts replaced.

AFAIK, cambelt change can be done yourself too. Just get all the other bits like tensioners,pulley and idlers to change at the same time.